jump to navigation

I Know Why the Bad Guy Monologues 03/10/2010

Posted by allisole in Writing.
trackback

I am about 60,000 words into my fourth novel.  The other three were all terrible, terrible things that will never be read by anyone, but this one I have hope for.  One of the reasons this one is working better is that I actually had a whole plot in mind before I started writing.  I’m usually a plan-as-you-write gal,but now I’m seeing the great benefit of planning.

But I’m also running into new problems.  Since I planned this one out, I was able to add some mystery to it.  Which is great, except now I’m at the point where all (or most) becomes revealed.  And I can’t think of a good way for the MC to figure things out without just being told.  I can see now why so many movies have that old cliche of bad guy revealing all parts of his evil scheme to good guy.  It’s so much easier that way!  And all that beautiful, really subtle stuff that the bad guy did?  Now you get to find out about it all!  I’ve seen it done the other way too, with the good guy revealing to an astonished crowd/police station all that the bad guy did.

So is there any other way to do it?  Is there any way to show readers what’s been going on besides just having it all spelled out through dialogue?

I guess what I really need to do is read some more mysteries and see how experts do it.  Mystery is not usually my genre (and it’s not what I’m writing, really) but knowing how to add mystery to a story would not be a bad thing.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

