jump to navigation

I am a Secret Genius (and don’t let anyone tell you different) 03/16/2010

Posted by allisole in Writing.
trackback

Fun Stats:

  • Word count for WIP: 64,528 words
  • Number of bruises from fencing tournament this weekend: 10 (including one on toe)
  • Days until I know about vet school: 14 (or less, dear God please let it be less)
  • Number of cats bugging me right now: 2

I wrote myself into a corner the other day.  It was a bad one.  My characters were doing unnatural things just so I could reveal info to the readers, my MC was stuck waiting to be rescued, and a lot of coincidences were starting to happen.  None of that is good.  I was getting worried that I was going to have to backtrack, rewrite, and get rid of a few pages.  PAGES.  I’m not a fast writer.  There are days where I’m lucky to have written a page.  It would have killed me to get rid of pages.  I mean, I know I’ll have to do it eventually, when I go through and rewrite, but that still doesn’t mean I didn’t whine about my predicament to my boyfriend and my cats.  (Sometimes they are the only ones who will listen to my whining.  Not because they want to, but because they have to.)

But then, after staring at the computer for a long, long time, PURE GENIUS AWESOMENESS STRUCK!  HAHAHAHAHA! I went back, changed a few details about the setting, introduced a new character, and BAM!  Oh, it felt good.

This is one of my favorite things about writing.  Just letting my mind go, letting the plot, the characters, the world of my work roll around in my brain.  Maybe it doesn’t sound like it should work, but it does.  Give it enough time, don’t push it, and things click into place.

Sure, there are more professional ways of working through the rough patches, but mine is more fun.  And you get to feel like a secret genius.

Comments»

1. dues ex machina - 03/17/2010

Sorry to burst ya bubble there squirt, but creating a character only for the specific purpose of continuing the story isn’t that new of an idea.

allisole - 03/17/2010

Well, now, I never said it was a new idea. I just said that I managed to fix flaws in my plot by revising and adding a necessary new character. And that makes me a (say it with me!) secret genius.


Leave a Reply

