jump to navigation

The End? 04/23/2010

Posted by allisole in Writing.
trackback

Confession Time: I don’t have an ending for my novel.

OMG HOW COULD I LET THIS HAPPEN??

Seriously, this is so embarrassing.  I’m 71,868 words in, and I have the potential to be really close to the end.  The only problem is, if I go the easy route and wrap things up with a nice little bow, then the whole thing feels… flat.  The whole thing would be too easy, and my MC wouldn’t even do much except show up for the party.

Which would mean my novel was sucky.

So I’m stuck.  I’m stuck, and I’m distracted by my new job, and worst of all, I’m getting bored with my novel.  But 71,868 words is too many for me to just give up.  I need to spice things up.  I need an ending.

The kind of scary part here: I’m starting to realize that maybe my problem is that I’m not at the ending.  Maybe I’m only somewhere in the middle.  Maybe I’m writing two books, not one.

Crap.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

